Palazzo dei Conservatori Museum
The Palazzo dei Conservatori, headquarters of the magistrature of the same name for hundreds of years, has, since the end of the 15th century, been home to the Capitoline collection of sculptures.
The palazzo's interior design and the layout of the works of art has been modified over the years.
The sculptures were originally situated in the external portico on the ground floor, on the façade and in the courtyard, but gradually were used also to decorate rooms on the first floor.
The name Palazzo dei Conservatori Museum was taken up in 1876 with the expansion of the exhibition area.
The refurbishment completed in 2005 has radically modified the appearance of this section of the museum, with the construction of a large glass hall for the great Capitoline bronzes, the refurbishing of the halls of the Roman Horti and the Castellani Collection, and the creation of a large sector dedicated to the Temple of Capitoline Jupiter.
Halls of the Horti Lamiani
Palazzo dei Conservatori Museum - Halls of the Horti Lamiani
Situated in the upper part of the Esquilino, in the area around what is today Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, the Horti Lamiani were founded by the consul Aelius Lamia, a friend of Tiberius, and very soon (already with Caligula) became part of Imperial property.
Of the luxurious decorations of this vast complex of buildings, excavated in the XIX century and then covered over again, over and above the frescos and architectural elements in coloured marbles, a countless number of foils in gilded bronze with gems set in them, the remains of a sumptuous wall dressing, were found.
A number of important statuary groups were also part of it, such as the Esquiline Venus with two priestesses or Muses beside her and the portrait of Commodus as Hercules flanked by tritons.